Design a site like this with
Get started

Hanna Owens

I am 35 years old and from the United States. I have worked professionally as an infant nanny for the past ten years and have over 18 years of experience in childcare and teaching.

I have been taking care of babies ever since I can remember, as I have many younger relatives and started babysitting in my neighborhood in middle school. Growing up, my parents were teachers and my mom even worked as a nanny with twins herself at one point!

While completing my Bachelors degree I studied in Dakar, Senegal, where I lived in a home with a newborn baby and five women. This experience was hugely formative for me; I saw firsthand the community that childcare necessitates. During that year I also traveled around West Africa, within Senegal and to the Casamance, the Gambia and Mali. I then took a teaching job in Calais, France, and spent one year as an English language assistant in two middle schools with students ages 10 to 17.

For graduate school I moved back to the US, to Chicago, where I completed a Masters in Fine Arts and fell into what would become my twin nanny career. My first twin parents trusted me with their four-month-olds— it was their mom who first taught me how to sleep train her baby boys and match their routines. I worked with them for 10 months before the family relocated. Another family in the same building was expecting twins and so I was passed along to them. I started with their boys at 12 days old, the day after they came home from the hospital.

I have worked professionally as a nanny in Chicago, Los Angeles, Charlotte and Berlin, Germany. In 2018 I moved to Berlin, where I lived for three years and worked with six lovely families. I have now cared for five sets of twins, from as young as five days old.

In November 2021 I moved to Charlotte, North Carolina.

A huge passion of mine is learning and teaching languages. I enjoy reading, cooking, hiking, exercising and traveling. I love to be by the sea, as I grew up between the Chesapeake Bay and the Atlantic Ocean.

I am a non-smoker and strong swimmer. I eat a mostly vegan diet— occasionally fish or eggs— yet have no issue preparing meat and dairy for my charges.

%d bloggers like this: